David H. Horne Memorial Golf Tournament-Oct. 4, 2017

golf 2016 team photo -4

The 2016 first place team was from BWXT and was comprised of Don Rust, Eric Camper, Kevin Layman and Charlie Copp.                                                                                                                                                                

We would love to have you join us for the golf tournament in 2017.  It will be the 16th year for the tournament and your participation would be appreciated. The tournament will be held Wednesday, October 4th. 

CLICK HERE FOR THE Sponsorship form: sponsor_form_


David H. Horne Memorial HFTH Golf Tournament Marks 15 Years

2016 was the 15th year for the David H. Horne Memorial Golf Tournament held in memory of our beloved founder, David Horne. This year’s tournament was held on Wednesday, October 5, at London Downs Golf Course in Forest, Virginia. The event netted $18,762 which will process and distribute 84,432 quarter pound servings of venison. Since this tournament began in 2002, it has raised a total of $320,432, which has allowed 1,441,944 servings of high protein red meat to reach people in need in David’s memory.

Tournament winners
First Flight First Place: Don Rust, Eric Camper, Kevin Layman, and Charlie Copp, shot 59.
Second Place: Joey Layne, Steve Mays, Barry Layne, and Steve Behnke shot 60.
Second Flight First place: Zach Boyd, Luke Ogden, Bret Piechowski, and Sam Hartness shot 66. Second place: C. M. Davis, Norm Satterfield, Mike Jones, and Bill Henderson shot 66
Third Flight First Place: Christian Dibert, Jonathan Whorley, Billy Mull, and Tony Rice shot 69.
Second place: Chuck Allen, Marty Allen, Brad Allen, and Grandy Llewellyn shot 69.
Closest to the Pin Hole # 2, Jason Brown, Closest to the Pin Hole # 7, Charles Bond, Closest to the Pin Hole # 12, George Snead, and Closest to the Pin Hole # 15, Mary Woerner. Womens Longest Drive – Janet Cochrane and Men’s Longest Drive – Joey Layne.

Event Sponsor – Georgia Pacific Corporation, Big Island, VA
Platinum Sponsors: Bedford Outdoor Sportsman Association; Dibert Valve & Fitting Company, Inc.; the Greater Richmond Chapter NWTF;Green Valley Meat Processors; Charlie & Debbie Reynolds; and the Virginia Conservation Police Association
Gold Sponsors: Anderson & Parker Soil Consultants; Appalachian Bowhunters Association, Inc.; Schrock’s Slaughter House;Suburban Whitetail Management of Northern Virginia; and Updike Funeral Home and Crematory
Silver Sponsors: Coleman-Adams Construction Company; Edward Jones-Bedford, Jonathan Schubert; Ken & Jean Horne; Locust Grove Farm, Inc., Robbie Taylor; and Laura Newell-Furniss & family
Bronze Sponsors: Augusta County Chapter NWTF; Baughman & Associates;Al Baughman; Bedford Excavating; ORTHODONTICS, Dr. Mark Blanchette; Mitzi & Gerald Boyd; Candler Heating and Air; Crofton Duplicating Services; Davenport Energy Company; Friends of Delegate Matt Fariss; First Citizens Bank; Foster Electric Co; Gastroenterology Associates of Central Virginia; Grand Home Furnishings; Andrew D. Key Financial Services; Law Offices of Steven Grant; Halifax Chapter – NWTF; Mike & Ilene King; Michael’s Carpet World; Piedmont Eye Center – LASIK; Quik-E Food Stores; Reaves Timber of Virginia, Inc.; Thomas Richardson D.D.S.; Rose Computer and Network Solutions; Sculptured Taxidermy; Tidewater Chapter – NWTF, Chesapeake, VA; and Wrays Body Shop

A special thanks to Eddie and Cheryl Ragland of Appomattox for catering the meal and as always the highlight of the meal are the homemade desserts made by David’s family and friends: Amy Clark, Greta Creasey, Ron Davis, Skyler Ireland, Virginia Manley, April Massie, Laura Newell-Furniss and Debbie Reynolds. A heart felt thanks to the following volunteers who helped to make the event a success: Jerry Shores, Gerald and Zach Boyd, Larry and May Massie, Jim and Connie Taylor, Auctioneer Daniel Evans, Bryan Pollard, Butch Furniss and Robby Clark.